„Gradually I got a clear idea of what music I wanted to write. It had to be transparent, not ‚art for art’s sake’, not cute, no superfluous notes – plain text. It takes courage to express one’s own opinion. Because if you are outspoken, you are often misunderstood. But I prefer this misunderstanding than an understanding based on ambiguity.“



Fantasie an die Freude

BOCD7613, 2016

Atem Pause

Cologne Quartett, JSM 6.005, 2011


Kreuzberg Records kr10112, 2011

Atem Pause

Miscelanea Quartett, ARSIS 4235, 2008

Il re solo

Kreuzberg Records kr 10042, 1998

Dialogus iuvenum

Kreuzberg Records kr 10042, 1997


edition ARIADNE AD 998001 , 1996

Yasuko – aus dem Schwarzen Regen

ORF/MP30/4-6, 1996

Imakosowa – brich auf!

Durian097/ 098-2, 1995

Versuch über den Turm von Pisa

FER 20014 , 1993

Berlinisches Tagebuch

CTH 2244, 1991

7 Spiele

Ambitus 97841, 1987


  • Educational Reform in the Era of Globalisation: Quality Assurance and Governance of Education

    Edited by the Research Project on Educational Governance, Faculty of Education, the University of Tokyo: Universal Tokyo Press, Tokyo 2019 p. 274-281

  • «Rashomon» by Mayako Kubo

    Thesis paper by Marlen v. Heydenaber, Art University Graz, 2011

  • Translation – Transformation

    Ed. H. Yamamoto/C. Ivanovic. Königshausen & Neumann, Würzburg, 2010

  • Contemporary Composers

    Edition Text und Kritik, München, 2009 rev.

  • Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians

    2nd edition

  • “My Home is in the Air”

    by Julia Schmidt-Pirro. In: Positionen, Nr. 63, Berlin, 2005

  • Notes from Paris

    by Jens Barnieck. In: Viva Voce Nr. 68, Archiv Frau und Musik, Frankfurt am Main, 2005

  • Mayako Kubo and her Musical Theater Work “Hyperion-Fragmente”

    by Arne Sanders. Frau Musica heute, hrsg. U. Liedtke, Rheinsberg, 2005

  • The Birth of a Radio Play from the Spirit of Music

    by Mayako Kubo. In: Neue Musik und Medien, Dresden 1997

  • Lexicon of Contemporary Music from Austria. Composers of the 20th Century

    Ed. Bernhard Günther. Mica, Wien 1997

  • Seiyo-ongakushi-nenpyo (Man & Music) vol. 12

    Tokio, 1997

  • The Truth of Different Sides

    In: Opern Welt, Erhard Friedrich Verlag, November 1996

  • Ongakugeijutsu

    Ongakunotomo, Dezember 1996

  • Transformation of a Diary

    by Christian Scheib. In: Positionen, Nr. 7, Berlin 1993

  • On the Present Situation of Female Composers

    S. Sornig, Hannover, 1988

  • Female Composers in Berlin

    Berlin, 1987

  • The Roots and the Fruits

    In: Noema, Salzburg, 1986