Foto: Neues Museum (Anna Seibel)

After 60 Seconds

A colleague said to me: „Many of the music pieces tonight are boring after 60 seconds“. I instantly understood what he meant. 60 seconds are time enough to realize the intentions of the composer. And after 60 seconds, you are then faced with the question: “what now?” Should we blame today’s information overload for the fact that hardly anyone these days seems able to patiently listen to an unknown piece of music?

Indeed, after 60 seconds I, too, was at a loss how to handle my notes. The four different sounds of flute, clarinet, French horn, and bassoon are mixed into chords, and unisons and parallel tutti movements create melodic cheerfulness. I also included little oases for soloists. But despite all that, the piece can still fall apart and become boring. Then again, boredom is always a subjective feeling. It is created in the head of the listener. My piece “After 60 Seconds” is meant to depict the difficult but also cheerful work of composing music.

After 60 Seconds for flute, clarinet, French horn, and bassoon UA
April 9th, 2017, 11.15 am
Neues Museum, Staatliches Museum für Kunst und Design Nürnberg, Luitpoldstraße 5, 90402 Nürnberg
Ensemble : Pegnitzschäfer-Klangkonzepte
Marion Ludwig, flute
Simone Sitterle, clarinet
Wilfried Krüger, French horn
Shunsuke Ohomori, bassoon

More entries

Ovartaci in Aarhus